A new women's record and the second fastest men's time were the highlights of Driffield Striders annual Mucky Duck race on Sunday.

Striders also had their largest field to date with 241 entries. On the day, 229 runners set out from Driffield Rugby Club over the challenging 8.5 mile multi-terrain course.

Karen Pickles (Pudsey Pacers), with 53 minutes 51 seconds, was 49 seconds inside her 2008 time.

The 2009 race winner, Phil Taylor (Bridlington Road Runners), cruised home in 47mins. 25secs - over 90 seconds quicker than last year.
Runner-up was East Hull Harriers Matthew Hayes (48.03).

Bridlington took three of the first four places, with Phil's clubmates, Nick Hellewell and Stuart Spooner recording 50.04 and 50.38, respectively.

Most Striders were involved in marshalling, but Jazz Edeson broke the 60 minute barrier with 59.19 and Claire Ward ran 66.40. The town's new running club, Yorkshire Wold Runners, were led by Wayne Leighton (66.00), supported by David Found (72.32) and Sarah Newlove (80.01).

The largest club entry, 24, came from Beverley Athletic Club and Pudsey Pacers, while the Ackworth Road Runners contingent included the event's oldest runner, 77-year-old Ken Bingley.

The Team Challenge prize for non-club runners went to regular Duck supporters, Wolds Way to Health, who entered 16 runners: Edwin Maund (63.39), Tim Nicholson (64.36), Matthew Crowther (66.31), James Iveson (67.37), Paul Turner (67.43),Brian Chippendale (68.22),Rachel Gilbank (69.35),Charle Crowther (73.01),Matthew Cole (73.54), Chris Henshaw (76.16), Julie Pease (77.15), Heather Heaton (84.10),Helen Turton (87.14), David Bougen (87.14), Sheila Howes (89.02).

Team prizes: Men, Bridlington RR; Women, Pudsey Pacers; VETERANS: Men (40-44) 1. Roy Lilley (East Hull Harriers), 2. Paul Gaile (Pudsey Pacers); (45-49), 1. Patrick Piggott (Pocklington Road Runners), 2. Jazz Edeson (Striders); (50-54), 1. Ian Husband (Beverley AC), 2. Stephen Schofield (Dewsbury Road Runners); (50-59), 1. Ted Kraft (Scarborough), 2. Peter Watkinson (Beverley AC); (60+) 1. Neil Scruton (Scarborough), 2 Phil Dewberry (Hull Springfield); VETERANS: Women (35-39), 1. Pam Richards (City of Hull), 2. Leanne Hague (Pudsey Pacers); (40-44) 1. Becky Fielding-Smith, 2. Clare Nicholson (City of Hull); (45-49) 1. Jill Dowson (Pocklington Road Runners), 2. Helen Storr (Beverley AC); (50-54) 1. Shirley Colquhoun (Tadcaster Harriers), 2. Jane Dale (Beverley AC); (55+) 1. Judy Allison (Bridlington RR), 2. Janet Davis (Ackworth RR). 

Full Results

Fun Run Results

Mucky Duck 2009

Make a Free Website with Yola.